The Road to Hell is Paved with Good Intentions.

Posted: July 26, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

The road to hell is paved with good intentions. Eerily true.  Often, it is the work of the private mind-those thoughts inside your head no one else hears, an evil invention of God. How true with the case of the terrorist in Norway. I started reading a few newspaper articles this morning about the twisted mind of  Anders Behring Breivik and  it sounded all too familiar. IN HIS OWN MIND it all made perfect sense and was not cruel but necessary to bring about change, a better world. In fact, each and every country-the very fact that there are separate countries/peoples/cultures with lines which keep us separate called ‘boarders’-feel they are correct in protecting their ‘people’ ‘against’ other rouge nations and feel it is their ‘right’ and ‘duty’ to arm themselves but…the world is getting scarier. The world indeed, is getting sicker.

Good intentions, like when I watch volunteers in Haiti, after the earth quake, carrying a young girl whom they had ‘saved’ by amputating her legs, up, up , up, to the top of a very treacherous hill that was her home , and laying her on a bed and watching her sobbing , helpless as they left her there. I think of her often. I don’t think she had a wheelchair but if she did , it would be of little use.

Good intentions, like the Canadian woman in Winnipeg, requesting donations (and receiving alot) for Somalian farmers, whom she had assisted in providing money to get their farms started a number of years ago, but the problem is so great it will be too little too late. On the same newscast, it was reported Somalia needed 1 billion dollars in aid immediately to cope with the famine. A feeling of hopelessness overcame me. Could I afford to send them $100-50-10? Would they, these images of dying children I watched, receive it? Would it help? Would anything change so this never happens again? That would be my ‘intention’.

Good intentions, like the recent uprisings in the middle east.  Take to the streets, risk your life by speaking out publically, arm yourself and use violence to defend yourself in order to force change, bring down the current corrupt dictatorships to bring about a better life for all.  Many people died  with little significant lasting change
resulting.
 
Good intentions, like I had when I participated in planning my parents 50th wedding anniversary.  In my private mind I was full of jealous, angry thoughts about my sister who was hosting the party. Her home was large and plentiful, I could only contribute some pictures on large bristol boards, depicting each decade of my parents marriage .  By the time the event took place, I was so full of rage I got loaded and was dragged to a mental institution  at the end of the party (the police didn’t want me although they tried) .  However, my intention was to present something meaningful for my parents and guests to enjoy. I don’t think this comes to mind when my mother remembers that day.
 
So, what are we to do?  Is it hopeless, should we just exist within self interest because each road leads to ‘hell’?  No, we are together in this world and there is a solution.
At Desteni.co.za we present an equal money system which would change the world from the ground up.  A huge effort that will bring about lasting, effective change and a world based on equality and oneness. Please investigate EqualMoney.org and join us!

Comments
  1. Patricia says:

    Hi there! I simply would like to offer you a big thumbs up for
    your great info you have got right here on this post. I’ll be returning to your website for more soon.

Leave a Reply

